My Independence Day

A little more than five years ago, as I stopped, out-of-breath, after climbing the Chemin du Calvaire, my favorite path up to the Phare de la Garoupe, I enjoyed the view (without the snow: pic was taken in Feb. this year) and took one of those figurative backward glances on my existence, and I remember thinking: “Oh shit! Is that really all you could do with your life?” and finished my thought in a fit of coughingย and spitting (sorry :/ ).

Then, I told myself “Lilaine, you’re smoking your life away, you big dumbass!”. Actually, I was more virulent and used a much more ‘refined’ vocabulary. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ˜›

That’s when I decided to break that twenty-seven-year long relationship and reclaim my independence from that toxic, evil creature, aka cigarette. I tried to give myself a birthday present by quitting on July, 2 but I just couldn’t … Die hard habit, this one!

Lucky for me, the American People decided to kick the Brits butts out on a fourth of July, and it greatly inspired and motivated me to do the same with my cigs butts. Many thanks to them, and to Lafayette. ๐Ÿ˜€

Five years–and nine more kilograms(20 pounds)–later, I’m able to look forward to getting older and climbing whatever summit(lit. and fig.) I’ll set my mind to… ๐Ÿ˜‰

Deep, full, cleansing breath…. and a loud, joyous shout: Yeehooo!! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

Still some work cut out for me on the ‘doing something with my life’ question, though… ๐Ÿ˜›

4 thoughts on “My Independence Day

  1. That is the bitch about giving up smoking, isn’t it? — the weight gain thing. It seems impossible to give up one without being saddled by the other. But you deserve great kudos for getting those butts out!

    • Thanks for your understanding and the most appreciated kudos. ๐Ÿ˜€
      To top it off, I stopped smoking at an age when gaining weight is the easiest(and most unconscious) thing to do. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ
      lol …. Saddled, indeed. ๐Ÿ˜›

Leave a Reply

